Advisory Board


The CORE Advisory Board is composed of 22 to 25 members and must include professionals from transplant centers, intensive care or emergency departments, tissue banks, voluntary health organizations, hisocompatibility members, neuroscience physicians, transplant surgeons, chief medical directors, medical directors of an eye bank, organ donor families, and public members. The board meets biannually.

Joseph Africa, MD
Medical Director
Charleston Area Medical Center

Stephen H. Bailey, MD
Director, Cardiac Surgery
Allegheny Health Network

Meaghan Beerson
Program Administrator, Transplant Services
UPMC Hamot

Lynsey Biondi, MD, FACS
Physician Director of Transplantation, Surgical Director of Kidney Transplant
WVU Medicine

Thomas V. Cacciarelli, MD
Director, Liver Transplant Program
VA Pittsburgh Healthcare System

Russell Mitesh Cerejo, MD
Co-Director, Endovascular Services
Allegheny Health Network/Cerebrovascular Center

Robert C. Dolence
Transplant Recipient Representative

Armando Ganoza, MD
Assistant Professor of Surgery
Thomas E. Starzl Transplantation Institute

Lindsey Herlinger
Transplant Administrator
VA Pittsburgh Healthcare System

Ajai Khanna, MD
Professor of Surgery
UPMC Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh

Jennifer Knight, MD
Associate Program Director, General Surgery Residency Program
West Virginia University; Ruby Memorial Hospital

Glen Martin
Associate Administrator
Charleston Area Medical Center/General Hospital

Valliammai Muthappan, MD
Corneal Surgeon; Cataract and Eye Consultants
Sightline Ophthalmic Associates

Reshma Paranjpe
Cornea, External Disease and Refractive Surgery
Allegheny Ophthalmic and Orbital Associates

Frederick Peterson
Public Representative
The Hospital & Healthsystem Association of Pennsylvania

Diane Pidwell, PhD
Director, Histocompatibility Laboratory
Allegheny General Hospital

Richard Plowey, MD, MPH
Keystone Pain Consultants

Duke Rupert
COO & Transplant Administrator
Allegheny General Hospital

Kathleen K. Ryan
Executive Director and Legal Counsel
Pennsylvania Funeral Directors Association

Gina Velar
Donor Family Representative

Travis Watson
Transplant Program Administrator
UPMC Thomas E. Starzl Transplantation Institute

Martin Wijkstrom, MD
Assistant Professor, Department of Surgery, Division of Transplantation
Director Islet Transplantation
Director Abdominal Transplant Fellowship
UPMC Montefiore

M. Asad Zaman, MHA
Director, Transplant Services
UPMC Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh

Rachelle (Shelley) Zomak, RN, MS, CCTC
Director, Transplant Operations and Compliance
WVU Medicine – WVU Hospitals



Ex Officio Members


Matthew R. Morrell, MD
CORE Chief Medical Officer & Advisory Board Chair
Medical Director, Lung Transplant Program
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center

Susan Stuart, RN, MPM
Center for Organ Recovery & Education (CORE)

Roheena Kamyar, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology
University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine

William R. Wagner, PhD
McGowan Institute for Regenerative Medicine

Copy link
Powered by Social Snap